How to set up a retro in 2023 (IIS) (Nitro HTML5) - (Part 2)

Object

?
Nov 10, 2017
415
328
Is this identical to the original? I tried using this one last night but I was getting syntax errors when trying to convert the SWFs to Nitro. Not sure if that’s related to a change in files used, or something I’ve done wrong elsewhere. I will give it another shot tonight though, thank god for VM Snapshots with stuff like this…
I believe they're. I will have to do a proper check tho. but as far as I remember i just cloned the default pack when the git krews went down a while agoo
 

sysvol

New Member
Jun 25, 2023
5
0
I believe they're. I will have to do a proper check tho. but as far as I remember i just cloned the default pack when the git krews went down a while agoo
I'm intrigued if you'd get the same error as I get in the previous post. Pretty sure I followed every other step correctly.
 

Object

?
Nov 10, 2017
415
328
I'm intrigued if you'd get the same error as I get in the previous post. Pretty sure I followed every other step correctly.
I have yet to update the tutorial, but i have put together a repository that contains all the files you need, also converted to .nitro so it's ready for anyone to simply "plug & play". The files will contain an updated catalog, updated clothing, and assets that'll work with the dev branch of nitro.



I'll make sure to update the guide(s) asap to reflects those changes

All credits to @Puffin for the catalog -


You must be registered for see images attach



You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach
 
Last edited:

issakai

New Member
Nov 25, 2020
11
0
I'm facing this issue while trying to run php artisan migrate --seed. How can I fix this 🥲
 

Attachments

  • image-3-1.png
    image-3-1.png
    86.8 KB · Views: 27

issakai

New Member
Nov 25, 2020
11
0
you didnt setup the DB credentials in the .env correctly it seems
I've deleted off the pw to post it here but I've followed the set up according to the guide. The name of my db is maoru but I'm still getting the same problem :(
 

Attachments

  • 1688106127881.png
    1688106127881.png
    131.2 KB · Views: 14

Object

?
Nov 10, 2017
415
328
I've deleted off the pw to post it here but I've followed the set up according to the guide. The name of my db is maoru but I'm still getting the same problem :(
if your password have # in it then make sure to wrap it in quotes ""

eg. "my#password"
 

issakai

New Member
Nov 25, 2020
11
0
if your password have # in it then make sure to wrap it in quotes ""

eg. "my#password"
It doesn't have, it's only alphabet and number. Example of my pw : February2022

I think I'll just redo once again and hopefully it works
 

Object

?
Nov 10, 2017
415
328
This part should now be updated to reflect the most recent changes. I sadly haven't been able to test it myself - So everything is written of the top of my head. If you encounter any issues within this step, simply comment it and I'll make sure to have a look :D
 

EngeldesTodes

Deutsch Techno-Freak WIR SIND EIN
Feb 21, 2011
1,070
76
get this when I on the second part all details are correct did check them myself
 

Attachments

  • iis part 2 error.png
    iis part 2 error.png
    68.5 KB · Views: 28

Zara

New Member
Dec 18, 2016
6
0
There were issues when I first installed the CMS. I managed to get everything working, except that the registration page would show error 500 after trying to register an account. So I deleted everything and re-installed. The next time round, I did not get the website_installation table in the database. I'm also getting error 403, and unable to get to localhost. Any help on this?
 

burner9103837

New Member
Jul 21, 2023
1
0
Upon trying to continue to the /installation page, I'm getting SQLSTATE errors, all coming from the database migrations folder. The first error is:
SQLSTATE[42S01]: Base table or view already exists: 1050 Table 'failed_jobs' already exists
Upon trying to bypass by moving to the next script, it's followed by:
SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1064 You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MariaDB server version for the right syntax to use near 'json null, `created_at` timestamp null, `updated_at` timestamp null) default cha' at line 1
Lots are syntax errors. I have compatible version of PHP and MariaDB, this is my second clean install following directions closely. I tried migrating in command line as well and I get the same errors. Any advice here?
 

Attachments

  • error1.PNG
    error1.PNG
    114.8 KB · Views: 18

ChilCiheese

New Member
Jul 24, 2023
1
0
Hello with me the problem is that I can not go to the installation page. It loads forever but nothing happens. It redirects me to /atomcms/public/installation but then it says No access to page -Make sure the web address is correct
 

Sanderskog

New Member
May 16, 2019
13
1
Welcome to the part 2 of the "how to set up a retro with IIS" series! In this part we'll make a A LOT of progress towards making your new hotel playable 🚀

What will we cover in part 2:
Atom CMS setup
Atom HK setup
Volta (multi-node installations)
Nitro Converter setup

We'll need multiple versions of Node in-order to setup everything needed to play your new hotel, so to do that, we'll install a tool called "Volta" - Volta is a tool that lets us install & manage multiple versions of node hassle-free ✨

Head to and click on the " " - Go through the installation process. Once volta has been installed re-open your CMD (command prompt) and enter:
Code:
volta install [email protected]
And
volta install node

Install yarn
Code:
volta install yarn@latest

It's finally time to set up Atom CMS! this is the part where things start to get a little exciting, as we will get to see our website start functioning.

The first step of our road to set up Atom CMS will be to enable the PHP extensions required by Atom CMS to function properly, to do that head to C:\Program Files\PHP and scroll down until you find a file named "php" which is of file type "INI"
You must be registered for see images attach


Open the file in your preferred editor (Mine will be Visual Studio Code)

Find the extensions list (You can find the list quickly by searching for "Dynamic Extensions") Once you've found the list, replace it with the extension list below.

Code:
;extension=bz2
extension=curl
;extension=ffi
;extension=ftp
extension=fileinfo
extension=gd
;extension=gettext
;extension=gmp
;extension=intl
;extension=imap
;extension=ldap
extension=mbstring
;extension=exif      ; Must be after mbstring as it depends on it
;extension=mysqli
;extension=oci8_12c  ; Use with Oracle Database 12c Instant Client
;extension=oci8_19  ; Use with Oracle Database 19 Instant Client
;extension=odbc
extension=openssl
;extension=pdo_firebird
extension=pdo_mysql
;extension=pdo_oci
;extension=pdo_odbc
;extension=pdo_pgsql
;extension=pdo_sqlite
;extension=pgsql
;extension=shmop
; The MIBS data available in the PHP distribution must be installed.
; See https://www.php.net/manual/en/snmp.installation.php
;extension=snmp
;extension=soap
extension=sockets
;extension=sodium
;extension=sqlite3
;extension=tidy
;extension=xsl

The next step
* If you have the URL Rewrite extension installed already, skip to the "Install Atom CMS" step below.

If you didn't install the URL Rewrite extension in part one, you'll have to install it now - . Simply click "Install this extension" and go through the setup process

Install Atom CMS:
Start by heading into your Atom CMS folder by opening command prompt (CMD) and enter
Code:
cd C:/inetpub/wwwroot/atomcms

Next up enter the following your CMD
Code:
copy .env.example .env

* Leave your terminal open and continue to "Connect Atom CMS to your database & then Dependencies installation" below.

Connect Atom CMS to your database:
To make Atom CMS able to communicate with our database, we'll have to set the correct credentials, to do that open the .env file that is now located in the root of the Atom CMS folder, and fill in your database credentials as well as the correct database name - The variables you'll have to edit can be found below:

DB_DATABASE=your-database-name
DB_USERNAME=root
DB_PASSWORD=your-database-password

Dependencies installation:
Atom CMS relies on multiple different dependencies which we will have to install - To install those dependencies write the following commands
Code:
composer install && npm i && npm run build:atom

This will install all the required dependencies & compile the necessary assets for you.

You must be registered for see images attach

For Atom CMS to function we'll also have to generate an application key - luckily this is a simple process as well! All you have to do is to enter the following command in your CMD (command prompt)
Code:
php artisan key:generate

Connect Atom CMS with IIS:
The time has come! We will now be connecting Atom CMS with IIS to make us able to browse our newly setup website 🚀

Step one:
Open up your Internet Information Services application and expand the section just below "Start Page"

You must be registered for see images attach


Expand the "sites" section and right-click on the "Default website" and then "remove".

You will then have to add a new site to IIS and to do that, right-click yet again on the "Sites" and click "Add Website..."
You must be registered for see images attach


In the "Site name:" field enter whatever name you find appropriate. In my case, I will just enter my domain name.

Next click the 3 dots next to the "Physical path:" field and browse into the "public" folder inside the "atomcms" folder. Once you have clicked on the "public" folder, click the "OK" button.

Once you have done all of the above your "Add website" popup should look like this:
You must be registered for see images attach


If that's the case simply click "OK".

Next up we'll have to give full permission to the "atomcms" folder. To achieve this, browse yourself into the "C:\inetpub\wwwroot" folder and right-click on the "atomcms" folder select "Properties" then click the "Security" tab and click on "Edit..." and then "Add..." - A pop up should appear looking like the image below.

You must be registered for see images attach


Enter "IIS_IUSRS" and then "OK". Click on "Add..." once more and add "IUSR" and then "OK".

Once both the "users" have been added, find both of them in the list and click them individually, once they have been selected toggle the "Full control" and then click "Apply" (Don't forget to do this on both the added users).

Check the images below, if you're unsure if you did it correctly✨
You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

Once Atom CMS has been linked through IIS, you will be able to visit it through your domain name. The first time you visit it, you'll be prompted with an installation screen, which required you to paste in an installation code. This code can be found inside your database manager (DBeaver) within the table "website_installation" copy this code and paste it in, then go through the installation steps.

Important: Once you've finished the installation steps, open your .env files within your preferred editor once more, and set the APP_ENV to:
Code:
APP_ENV=production
and the APP_DEBUG to:
Code:
APP_DEBUG=false

Before we can enter our hotel, we'll need to set up our emulator and to do that, the first thing we need to do is to install Java.

To install Java all you have to do is to download it -

Once Java has been downloaded, go through the setup process, by leaving everything to their default preset (Simply click "Install" and let Java install itself).

Java has been installed:
When Java has been installed, it should look like the image below:
You must be registered for see images attach

Start by heading into your File explorer and navigate int othe following: "C:/ -> inetpub -> wwwroot -> atomcms -> public -> client" Here you'll find yourself with a folder called "emulator" simply drag it out to your desktop.

Open the "emulator" folder now located on your desktop and then edit the database credentials inside the config.ini file, so that they match the ones you made when setting up MariaDB - If you don't remember your credentials, simply open the .env file located in the root folder for Atom CMS and take them from there.

Once you've edited the config.ini so that the database credential matches you can safely save and close the config.ini file again.

Lastly click on the "start.bat" file so that your emulator fully boots up, once it's booted up, you can simply close it it back down.

There you go! Your emulator should now run smoothly for the future.

You're doing an amazing job so far 🎉 In the next part we will go through the process of setting up:
Nitro v2 & connect it's assets (latest as of July 2023)

To learn how to do all of the above, head to part 3 of this series, which will be the last and final part🥳


Did I miss anything?
Please let me know if I missed anything, as the guide contains a lot of information.
Hello there i have been setting up everything according to this tutorial, but i am struggeling a little when it comes to connect the IIS to the retro and it looks like that i have to generate a new key each time or else i get page not found or smth like that :(( could u have helped me thru the teamviewer? I am not a pc pro so would be nice to learn something a long the way :) Been trying to make this work before with this tutorial but i stoped as i was stuck, but atleast everything is working eccept the IIS and the hotel. I got the cms work before, and it was only the client that didnt want to load. Got some errors in the emu, it should say loaded at the end but it says only continue so :(
 

Roper

Ancient Member
Jul 4, 2010
569
216
Hello there i have been setting up everything according to this tutorial, but i am struggeling a little when it comes to connect the IIS to the retro and it looks like that i have to generate a new key each time or else i get page not found or smth like that :(( could u have helped me thru the teamviewer? I am not a pc pro so would be nice to learn something a long the way :) Been trying to make this work before with this tutorial but i stoped as i was stuck, but atleast everything is working eccept the IIS and the hotel. I got the cms work before, and it was only the client that didnt want to load. Got some errors in the emu, it should say loaded at the end but it says only continue so :(
You've most likely just missed a small step or two when setting up. First couple of tries I did following this tutorial I had issues but I reinstalled my VPS OS, re started and took extra time reading and following every step. It worked for me!
Post automatically merged:

Hello with me the problem is that I can not go to the installation page. It loads forever but nothing happens. It redirects me to /atomcms/public/installation but then it says No access to page -Make sure the web address is correct
You set the directory to the 'public' folder within IIS as per the tutorial?
Post automatically merged:

Upon trying to continue to the /installation page, I'm getting SQLSTATE errors, all coming from the database migrations folder. The first error is:
SQLSTATE[42S01]: Base table or view already exists: 1050 Table 'failed_jobs' already exists
Upon trying to bypass by moving to the next script, it's followed by:
SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1064 You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MariaDB server version for the right syntax to use near 'json null, `created_at` timestamp null, `updated_at` timestamp null) default cha' at line 1
Lots are syntax errors. I have compatible version of PHP and MariaDB, this is my second clean install following directions closely. I tried migrating in command line as well and I get the same errors. Any advice here?
You're using the wrong version of MariaDB. Download the version specified. I had the same issue at first.
 

Sanderskog

New Member
May 16, 2019
13
1
You've most likely just missed a small step or two when setting up. First couple of tries I did following this tutorial I had issues but I reinstalled my VPS OS, re started and took extra time reading and following every step. It worked for me!
Yeah i think so too. When i first started with this and followed the tutorial i gave up bcs i felt that this was an unpossible job. But iguess the only way to fully learn is to try and fail. Never got this far before, the issues rn looks like its only the IIS to use the correct url so the cms shows up again and then its the client.

I have one question or actually two xD U know the morningstar emu, when u click on the runbat and open it with notepad in there it says pause, is that suposed to stay that way or?


But yeah i will try to reinstall the vps and try again :)

Sorry i forgot to mention that i have only completed the part two tutorial that might be the reason why the nitro client is giving me errors, but still there is smth with the emulator that i have never been thru before. I only have experience with plus emulator so :( xD
If i get the same problem again is there any chanse that someone here can guide me thru discord or teamviewer? I mean no should feel forced to do so, just feels more chill to know :)

Thank u so much for the help :) Hope that everyone has a blessed day <3
 
Last edited:

Virtually

New Member
Dec 8, 2015
1
0
Having some problems installing this part getting some errors - composer install && npm i && npm run build:atom

Everything is installed, you know what to do ? @Object

FIXED: rewrite wasnt allow on system.

You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top