Limit the amount of attempts for the login in your cms [CMS Security]

Nicholas

Just another user:)
Mar 18, 2015
Hello I am a certified PHP developer I have my own brute force script...
First you must run this sql code into your phpmyadmin/navicat
Code:
CREATE TABLE `login_attempts` (
  `attempt_number` INT(11) NOT NULL,
  `time` VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL,
  `ip_addr` VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY (`ip_addr`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1;
In your configuration file add this line of code
PHP:
define("MAX_LOGIN_ATTEMPTS", number of attempts you want it to be);
// make sure it is a number not a string
// so it would 0 instead of "0"
Now create a file name * brute.class.php *
then put this code below in it
PHP:
<?php
class brute_force {
    public $db = "";
    public $connectionstring = "";
    function __construct($db_host, $db_user, $db_pass, $db_name) {
        $this->connectionstring = "" . $db_host . ", " . $db_user . ", " . $db_pass . ", " . $db_name  . "";
        $this->db = new mysqli($this->connectionstring);
    }
    private function getLoginAttempts() {
        $date = date("Y-m-d");
        $connecting_ip = $_SERVER["REMOTE_ADDR"];
        if (!$connecting_ip) {
            return PHP_INT_MAX;
        }
        $query = "SELECT attempt_number FROM login_attempts WHERE ip_addr = ? AND time = ?";
        if (!isset($lgt)) {
            $lgt = $this->db->prepare($query);
        }
        $lgt->bind_param("ss", $connecting_ip, $date);
        $lgt->execute();
        $lgt->store_result();
        if ($lgt->num_rows == 1) {
            $lgt->bind_result($login_attempts_number);
            $lgt->fetch();
            return intval($login_attempts_number);
        } else {
            return 0;
        }
    }
    function insertLoginAttempt() {
        $date = date("Y-m-d");
        $connecting_ip = $_SERVER["REMOTE_ADDR"];
        $current_attempts = $this->getLoginAttempts();
        if ($current_attempts > 0) {