Is Computer Science a good field to pursue professionally.

Aug 8, 2014
I ask this not for only myself but for my friends here at devbest. Most of you are interested in some form of programming for whatever reason. But to go beyond programming as a hobby but as a profession in which someone would get a degree in and learn systematically is it a good idea? The reason i ask this is because programming jobs more and more are being seized by (please don't take any offense to this) by cheap workers. Chinese, indian, middle eastern people who are willing to work for minimum wage.

So I ask you, do you think it is worth it considering the cheap laborers?

cxdy

PHP Developer
Jun 8, 2014
Computer Science as a college/university major is complete bull. You only study the theory, never apply it.

Magic

Posting Freak
Oct 11, 2012
Clearly some aspects are better pursued professionally at lets say a college, how ever aspects such as web development and programming can easily be self taught. Depending on your future plans, taking computer science at a University is a decent plan. In your second year you could branch of and something more specific such as Network Engineering. Computer science is a base for other more specific things.
Computer Science as a college/university major is complete bull. You only study the theory, never apply it.
This is bullshit, if you aren't applying your theory you have to be doing something wrong.

Khalil

IDK
Dec 6, 2011
Let's just get some clear out here, just because you have a degree, it doesn't mean you excel at something, which is why I love it when industries/start ups (etc) go for expertise and knowledge instead of just checking if the applicant has a degree. I can assure you we have some good programmers here that would do better than someone that has some sort of degree in computer science (i.e @Quackster, @Leon and others)..

Now then to answer your question, is computer science good to pursue professionally? Yes, without a doubt.