Ideally, what do I need to learn?

Markshall

Русский Стандарт
Contributor
Dec 18, 2010
This is quite a sensible thread from myself, something you don’t see often around these ends. So take it while you can

Okay so, a little background information first.
I’ve been coding since I was about 11 years old and have loved it ever since I started. I first started web development (very basically), then moved to software, and then moved back into web development and that’s where my main chosen career path is.

Now, over the past few years I’ve drifted away from coding a lot with personal circumstances that some of you may know about, lack of time and just other general hiccups.

My passion for coding hasn’t decreased however. I still love it all the more.

My predicament is that I’m 24 this month and still working in a retail job I got while at university (worth mentioning I dropped out due to unforeseen personal circumstances) that I have no desire for, as ultimately, web development is where I want to be. That said, I’ve been at that job for about 4.5 years now and I think I’ve overstayed my welcome and it’s definitely time to sort myself out in terms of jobs. I want a career, not a job.

With the lack of time I’ve been having, I’ve not had any time to pick up these new skills such as Vue, Angular and any other libraries/frameworks. My question to you all is: what am I better off learning, and in what order?

I consider myself a fast learner when it comes to languages, and I think , without blowing my own trumpet.

All the jobs I’m looking at seem to require some basic knowledge in these tools and I have none because of the aforementioned circumstances.

Thanks in advance!
Mark

Last edited:

Jepzter

May 25, 2018
Nice to see that you want to take the next step and start a coding career! :)