How has coronavirus affected you?

Markshall

Русский Стандарт
Contributor
Dec 18, 2010
It’d be an understatement to say that coronavirus has affected all of us in some way or another, but I’m genuinely curious to find out who has been affected in what way(s). Whether it be financially, mentally, losing your job/loved ones to the virus or just about anything.

Personally, I’ve been very fortunate in that I’ve managed to maintain my job. I work as a web developer for an oil company and we’ve been deemed an essential industry in the UK by our government (after-all, hospitals and schools still need fuels and oils etc) so I’ve been working from home since March.

I’m also fortunate that no one I know has died or become seriously ill the virus, I know people close to me who have had it, but they’ve fully recovered with no complications.

I’ve also ended up financially better off. I’ve recently paid my car finance off so I’m no longer paying £250 for that every month. I also no longer have to drive roughly 1 hour to work, and then 1 hour back home each day so that’s giving me more sleep, less traffic jams and also saving me upwards of £200 a month in petrol. This also goes hand-in-hand with the fact that a hell of a lot of places had been forced to shut during the first 6 months of our lockdown, so I was no longer spending money at restaurants or pubs so I was saving money there.

So, what about you lot? I’d also very much like to keep this thread free of politics, I don’t want to see how one country or government official handled it better/worse than another. This thread is about you, not your government.

RastaLulz

fight teh power
Staff member
May 3, 2010
Glad to hear this year has been mostly positive for you.

This year has definitely been an interesting one; lots of isolation, and time for introspection. It started out pretty well; was going to the gym every other day, spent sometime in Denver with colleagues, had plans for traveling/working remote, etc.